Tentative Acceptance

As some of you know, i was accepted last week into Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts in Boulder, Colorado, but the acceptance is tentative. Tentative? What does that mean? It means that is depends on the financial aspect of the application. i am not exactly sure how i need to get a full acceptance, but i am sure that i do not have that much.

i have tried to raise some money for the tuition, but i have not received much at all. i am thankful to the two friends (anonymous) that donated to my future, but that will not even cover the cost to fly home. As you may know, i have been in Europe since 2001. i taught English in Hungary, but never had enough money to eat, much less save for a plane ticket.

If anyone knows of someone who wants to help someone in need, then give them my name. Every dollar helps me get closer to attaining my dream of being a great chef. Below is the link to donate if the spirit moves you to help me.

https://www.fundraise.com/david-babin/ocean-goes-to-cooking-school

Or i think it is better to send it directly to the school. (http://www.escoffier.edu/locations/boulder)

It is difficult to be in this position; to ask friends to help, to practically beg, to depend on others, to be without the means to help myself and to be tentatively accepted. And to depend on the government to approve me for a grant, which would give me a little money for school. i am not hopeful because the government seems to be out of money now.

My birthday was last week. It was uneventful, especially compared to my birthday celebrations in Hungary. i am grateful to the family that i live with in Lyon; they tried to make it special, but i missed my best friend and our traditions. The new student, a boy from Japan, and a friend of the family, also Japanese, made some sushi rolls.

Everything in my life feels tentative at the moment, but as i look out my rain splattered window, from my bedroom in Lyon,  i feel a small spark of hope that it will all change soon.

DSC_0068 DSC_0069 DSC_0070 DSC_0071 DSC_0073 DSC_0075 DSC_0078 DSC_0079 DSC_0080 DSC_0081 DSC_0085

more to come…

2 thoughts on “Tentative Acceptance

    • What do you mean? i do not have recipes here, maybe one or two. My blog is about my adventures in life. Although i am a pastry chef now. i do love to cook and i have some recipes. If you click “Follow” on top, you will be signed up. i have not done a e-mail sign up yet.

Leave a Reply

